This composite of courtesy images shows Juneau artists and art by Juneauites who recently earned Rasmuson Foundation awards. (Top left) a still from “This Place/This Sound”, (top middle) Crystal Worl, (top right) Corinna Cook, (bottom left) Annie Bartholomew, (bottom middle) Christy NaMee Eriksen, (bottom right) painting by Lily Hope. (Courtesy Photos)

Lesser-heard voices from the past sing loud for Alaska art awards

Projects range from huge public murals to albums to dances and more.


Dzantiki Heeni Middle School principal Molly Yerkes was named Region 5 Principal of the Year by the Alaska Association of Secondary School Principals for 2020. (Courtesy photo | Molly Yerkes)

Look who was named region’s principal of the year

She’s been at the middle school for 16 years now.


Jorden Nigro speaks during the Woman of Distinction 2019 Celebration Saturday, March 9, 2019 at Centennial Hall. During her speech she advocated for seeing humanity in others and the value of showing up. (Ben Hohenstatt | Capital City Weekly)

Women of Distiction event celebrates people who make a difference in Juneau

Raising AWARE-ness for Juneau’s wonder women.