Opinion

(Peter Segall / Juneau Empire File)

Opinion: City’s move to curb virus spread should be applauded

Please join me in thanking our assembly members, city staff,and mayor for their quick response.

  • Aug 3, 2021

 

Teaser

Opinion: We need the PRO Act. Here’s why

The hard-working men and women of Alaska’s building trades need the PRO Act.

  • Aug 2, 2021

 

teaser

Opinion: Equity-based, social solutions are needed for the unsheltered

We are now experiencing heart-wrenching houselessness across our nation.

  • Jul 30, 2021

 

Faith Myers stands at the doors of API. (Courtesy Photo)

Opinion: Cities and state must work to understand homelessness and mental health

To be successful state and city agencies have to move closer…

  • Jul 29, 2021
Faith Myers stands at the doors of API. (Courtesy Photo)
The Alaska State Capitol. (Michael Penn / Juneau Empire File)
The Alaska State Capitol. (Michael Penn / Juneau Empire File)
A surplus warehouse at 1325 Eastaugh Way, off Thane Road, is being considered by the City and Borough of Juneau as a possible location for a ballot-counting center should the city decide to increase its use of voting by mail in future municipal elections. (Peter Segall / Juneau Empire File)

Opinion: More action, less expensive talk is needed

I’m not buying this propensity to spend, spend, spend.

  • Jul 28, 2021
A surplus warehouse at 1325 Eastaugh Way, off Thane Road, is being considered by the City and Borough of Juneau as a possible location for a ballot-counting center should the city decide to increase its use of voting by mail in future municipal elections. (Peter Segall / Juneau Empire File)
(Peter Segall / Juneau Empire File)

Opinion: We cannot risk a house divided

Each legislator’s satisfaction should be in doing what’s right for Alaska.

  • Jul 27, 2021
(Peter Segall / Juneau Empire File)
Tourists mill near the Serenade of the Seas, the first large cruise ship to come to Juneau in 2021, on Friday, July 23. (Michael S. Lockett / Juneau Empire)

We need to consider limits.

It is time for all of us to make decisions for the good of our entire community

  • Jul 26, 2021
Tourists mill near the Serenade of the Seas, the first large cruise ship to come to Juneau in 2021, on Friday, July 23. (Michael S. Lockett / Juneau Empire)
Alaska State Capitol

Opinion: Political virtue, hypocrisy and nihilism

No one can claim to revere Alaska’s Constitution by picking and choosing which sections matter.

  • Jul 24, 2021
Alaska State Capitol
(Ben Hohenstatt / Juneau Empire File)

Opinion: Biden’s action on the Tongass will result in climate, jobs and community win

Protecting old-growth forest should be seen an essential climate move.

  • Jul 23, 2021
(Ben Hohenstatt / Juneau Empire File)
Teaser

Alaskans are finally returning to work

It is critical that Alaska businesses are able to staff up to meet the demand.

  • Jul 22, 2021
Teaser
This screenshot from the state Division of Community and Regional Affairs website shows a map of Alaska Regional Development Organizations. (Screenshot)

Opinion : ARDORs and Alaska economic data

A one-size-fits-all approach doesn’t work for our state.

  • Jul 20, 2021
This screenshot from the state Division of Community and Regional Affairs website shows a map of Alaska Regional Development Organizations. (Screenshot)
(Peter Segall / Juneau Empire File)

Opinion: Alaska needs an efficiently operating ferry system

There is so much to be said about why Alaska needs an efficient operating marine highway system.

  • Jul 19, 2021
(Peter Segall / Juneau Empire File)
An election official lays out more "I voted" stickers on Tuesday, Nov. 3. Stickers for the 2020 general election featured designs by Alaskan artist Barbara Lavallee. Election officials in Juneau said the sticker depicting a pair of Neoprene boots ha been particularly popular. (Ben Hohenstatt / Juneau Empire)

Opinion: The parties to political irrelevance

Lawsuit challenging elections overhaul is ripe with irony.

  • Jul 17, 2021
An election official lays out more "I voted" stickers on Tuesday, Nov. 3. Stickers for the 2020 general election featured designs by Alaskan artist Barbara Lavallee. Election officials in Juneau said the sticker depicting a pair of Neoprene boots ha been particularly popular. (Ben Hohenstatt / Juneau Empire)
(THE CANADIAN PRESS/AP, NIAID-RML)

Opinion: The politics of vaccination hesitancy

If variant causes hardships, politicians are partly to blame.

  • Jul 14, 2021
(THE CANADIAN PRESS/AP, NIAID-RML)
(Michael Penn / Juneau Empire File)

Opinion: What is our capacity for large cruise ship passengers?

I want to live in a society, not just an economy.

  • Jul 14, 2021
(Michael Penn / Juneau Empire File)
teaser
teaser
An election official lays out more “I voted” stickers on Tuesday, Nov. 3. Stickers for the 2020 general election featured designs by Alaskan artist Barbara Lavallee. (Ben Hohenstatt / Juneau Empire File)

Opinion: Ranked-choice voting isn’t that simple

The change isn’t simple, and Alaskans need to prepare for it.

  • Jul 8, 2021
An election official lays out more “I voted” stickers on Tuesday, Nov. 3. Stickers for the 2020 general election featured designs by Alaskan artist Barbara Lavallee. (Ben Hohenstatt / Juneau Empire File)
The Juneau Police Department, along with law enforcement partner organizations, is preparing for the possibility of political violence at the capitol, seen above, on the day of the inauguration. (Peter Segall / Juneau Empire)

Opinion: Infrastructure package could mean opportunities for Alaska

We have some opportunities coming up that can help us with our perennial budget problems.

  • Jul 7, 2021
The Juneau Police Department, along with law enforcement partner organizations, is preparing for the possibility of political violence at the capitol, seen above, on the day of the inauguration. (Peter Segall / Juneau Empire)
This public domain image shows a printing of the Declaration of Independence.

Opinion: Understanding our declaration on Independence Day

Widespread ignorance of U.S. history contributes to gullibility.

  • Jul 4, 2021
This public domain image shows a printing of the Declaration of Independence.