Opinion

Opinion: Let’s look at what Ballot Measure 1 opponents say

It makes no sense to continue to give our resources to Big Oil at bargain prices…

  • Oct 27, 2020

 

teaser

Opinion: Ballot Measure 1 must be defeated in an historically bad year

We are your neighbors, friends and community leaders. But most importantly, we are voting no.

  • Oct 27, 2020

 

Bill Corbus, former revenue commissioner and past president of Alaska Electric, Light and Power, speaks Thursday, Jan. 23, 2020, at a Greater Juneau Chamber of Commerce meeting at Elizabeth Peratrovich Hall. (Ben Hohenstatt / Juneau Empire File)

Opinion: Ballot Measure 1 could permanently injure Alaska’s major industry

Don’t go there Alaska, Vote no on Ballot Measure 1.

  • Oct 27, 2020

 

A voter fills out their ballot in person at the Mendenhall Valley Public Library on Oct. 6, 2020. The library was the site of one of the voting centers during the City and Borough of Juneau's by-mail municipal election. (Ben Hohenstatt / Juneau Empire)

Opinion: Vote no on Ballot Measure 2

Get out and vote no on Ballot Measure 2.

  • Oct 27, 2020
A voter fills out their ballot in person at the Mendenhall Valley Public Library on Oct. 6, 2020. The library was the site of one of the voting centers during the City and Borough of Juneau's by-mail municipal election. (Ben Hohenstatt / Juneau Empire)
Ballot Measure 1, which would raise taxes on certain North Slope oil fields, is on the ballot for Alaska’s general election in November. (Ben Hohenstatt / Juneau Empire)

Opinion: Alaskans deserve their fair share

It’s imperative that Alaskans stand up for our state and for each other by voting yes on Measure 1.

  • Oct 27, 2020
Ballot Measure 1, which would raise taxes on certain North Slope oil fields, is on the ballot for Alaska’s general election in November. (Ben Hohenstatt / Juneau Empire)
Agriculture Secretary Sonny Perdue tours a CREP wetland structure on the Heath Stolee farm, Thursday, Sept. 3, 2020, in Radcliffe, Iowa. (AP Photo / Charlie Neibergall)

Opinion: USDA to protect Alaska’s seafood from China’s retaliation

We are confident that this approach is best for Alaska fishermen.

  • Oct 26, 2020
Agriculture Secretary Sonny Perdue tours a CREP wetland structure on the Heath Stolee farm, Thursday, Sept. 3, 2020, in Radcliffe, Iowa. (AP Photo / Charlie Neibergall)
This photo shows a by-mail ballot sent to an Alaska voter in October. (Ben Hohenstatt / Juneau Empire)

Opinion: Voter rights in jeopardy — then and now

Unless we have voting rights equity for all, we can neither have nor maintain our democracy.

  • Oct 26, 2020
This photo shows a by-mail ballot sent to an Alaska voter in October. (Ben Hohenstatt / Juneau Empire)
hand shake

Opinion: I find our political division concerning

We must start to try to understand where another person’s political views are coming from.

  • Oct 26, 2020
hand shake
tease

Opinion: An independent judiciary is important

The same old players are back echoing their 2010 and 2016 attacks on our independent judiciary.

  • Oct 25, 2020
tease
Teaser

Opinion: Trump’s dueling pandemic realities

As usual, Fauci was right.

  • Oct 25, 2020
Teaser
Web

Have something to say?

Here’s how to add your voice to the conversation.

  • Oct 24, 2020
Web
A sign outside the Mendenhall Mall directs voters to an early, in-person polling location. (Ben Hohenstatt / Juneau Empire)

Opinion: The facts about our presidential choices

Americans need to vote for the honest, decent family man.

  • Oct 24, 2020
A sign outside the Mendenhall Mall directs voters to an early, in-person polling location. (Ben Hohenstatt / Juneau Empire)
U.S. Sen. Dan Sullivan, R-Alaska, speaks during an interview with the Juneau Empire at the Capitol on Thursday, Feb. 21, 2019. (Michael Penn | Juneau Empire File)

Opinion: Just the facts about Sullivan, ma’am’, just the facts

“Fact is, Senator Sullivan has earned reelection.”

  • Oct 23, 2020
U.S. Sen. Dan Sullivan, R-Alaska, speaks during an interview with the Juneau Empire at the Capitol on Thursday, Feb. 21, 2019. (Michael Penn | Juneau Empire File)
This undated photo shows Dr. Al Gross. (Courtesy Photo / Dr. Al Gross for U.S. Senate)

Opinion: Gross will lead, and Sullivan has failed

Unless he is forced to speak out, Dan Sullivan remains near silent on major environmental challenges.

  • Oct 22, 2020
This undated photo shows Dr. Al Gross. (Courtesy Photo / Dr. Al Gross for U.S. Senate)
This photo of a by-mail ballot sent to an Alaska voter in October shows Ballot Measure 2.  (Ben Hohenstatt / Juneau Empire)

Opinion: Elections Should be free, fair and open

By Bruce Botelho Ballot Measure 2 is about ending the influence of dark money, opening primary elections to all qualified voters and allowing voters in… Continue reading

  • Oct 22, 2020
This photo of a by-mail ballot sent to an Alaska voter in October shows Ballot Measure 2.  (Ben Hohenstatt / Juneau Empire)
Sen. Dan Sullivan, R-Alaska, testifies during a hearing on Capitol Hill in Washington. Sen. Al Gross, an independent running with Democratic support, is challenging Sullivan in Alaska, a state that has long been a GOP stronghold. Across the country, Republicans are nervous about Senate seats like Sullivan’s they once thought safe as Democrats hope to capitalize on President Donald Trump’s unpopularity to retake the chamber. (Al Drago / Pool)

Opinion: Sullivan has earned my vote

If not for Sen. Dan Sullivan and our congressional delegation, we may have been forced to close.

  • Oct 22, 2020
Sen. Dan Sullivan, R-Alaska, testifies during a hearing on Capitol Hill in Washington. Sen. Al Gross, an independent running with Democratic support, is challenging Sullivan in Alaska, a state that has long been a GOP stronghold. Across the country, Republicans are nervous about Senate seats like Sullivan’s they once thought safe as Democrats hope to capitalize on President Donald Trump’s unpopularity to retake the chamber. (Al Drago / Pool)
”I Voted” stickers wait for Alaskan voters to pick them up during early in-person voting at Mendenhall Mall on Oct. 22. (Ben Hohenstatt / Juneau Empire)

Opinion: Sullivan has shown loyalty to party trumps the voices of Alaskan

Alaskans shouldn’t be surprised that it took Dan Sullivan a decade to say he opposes the Pebble Mine.

  • Oct 22, 2020
”I Voted” stickers wait for Alaskan voters to pick them up during early in-person voting at Mendenhall Mall on Oct. 22. (Ben Hohenstatt / Juneau Empire)
tease

Opinion: Why I’m choosing Gross again

Now, 25 years later, we are again choosing Al Gross, this time as our candidate for the U.S. Senate.

  • Oct 21, 2020
tease
Les Gara

Opinion: Voting yes on Ballot Measure 1 is voting yes for Alaska

We should be partners with the oil industry, not junior partners.

  • Oct 21, 2020
Les Gara
Alexander B. Dolitsky

Opinion: This ‘white privilege’ mission is a very troubling

Conservatives, describe this rhetoric as a radical neo-Marxist ideology, cancel culture and more.

  • Oct 20, 2020
Alexander B. Dolitsky