Opinion

teaser

Opinion: How our differences should unite us

The tribal anger emanating from the opposite poles won’t produce good governance

  • Sep 17, 2021

 

teaser

Opinion: To safeguard our future, it is critical we act now to protect our fisheries

To that end, we invite Biden administration decision-makers to visit our Alaska fishing communities.

  • Sep 16, 2021

 

Teaser

Opinion: Can we stop playing political football with Covid-19 mandates?

The drumbeat of divisive rhetoric on social media and newspaper opinion pages is getting shrill.

  • Sep 16, 2021

 

Faith Myers stands at the doors of API. (Courtesy Photo)

Opinion: Protecting people with a disability should be a legislative priority

The question still to be answered: “Will mental health care improve?”

  • Sep 15, 2021
Faith Myers stands at the doors of API. (Courtesy Photo)
A line of electric vehicles makes its way up Main Street Saturday, Sept. 26, 2020. (Ben Hohenstatt / Juneau Empire File)

Opinion: Is Juneau making progress toward renewable energy goals?

Are we on track to get to 80% by 2045?

  • Sep 15, 2021
A line of electric vehicles makes its way up Main Street Saturday, Sept. 26, 2020. (Ben Hohenstatt / Juneau Empire File)
(Michael Penn / Juneau Empire File)

BC’s environmental passion rings hollow

Declaratory statements imply lofty ideals but are devoid of any contextual facts.

  • Sep 13, 2021
(Michael Penn / Juneau Empire File)
)Ben Hohenstatt / Juneau Empire File)

Opinion: Hospital vaccine mandates make sense

lLt’s run through why some people are opposed to getting vaccinated…

  • Sep 12, 2021
)Ben Hohenstatt / Juneau Empire File)
teaser

Opinion: The state’s financial puzzle would be easier to solve without stretched numbers

Better to use all the puzzle pieces to build a more durable bridge.

  • Sep 9, 2021
teaser
Heavy metals run out of the Tulsequah Chief mine opening and down to holding ponds next to the Tulsequah River Wednesday, Oct. 8, 2008. Leakage from those ponds can be seen entering the river that flows into the Taku River down stream. (Michael Penn / Juneau Empire File)

Opinion: BC mining industry is toxic to both sides of the border

“As it turns out, BC’s rigorous permitting standards are simply a license to pollute”

  • Sep 8, 2021
Heavy metals run out of the Tulsequah Chief mine opening and down to holding ponds next to the Tulsequah River Wednesday, Oct. 8, 2008. Leakage from those ponds can be seen entering the river that flows into the Taku River down stream. (Michael Penn / Juneau Empire File)
Gov. Mike Dunleavy, seen here at an Aug. 16, news conference, announced Thursday the state was taking steps to help Alaska’s hospitals deal with the strain of a spike in COVID-19 cases. (Peter Segall / Juneau Empire file)

Opinion: The COVID leadership Alaska needs right now

Followers are anything but leaders.

  • Sep 3, 2021
Gov. Mike Dunleavy, seen here at an Aug. 16, news conference, announced Thursday the state was taking steps to help Alaska’s hospitals deal with the strain of a spike in COVID-19 cases. (Peter Segall / Juneau Empire file)
The City and Borough of Juneau’s Docks and Harbors department has issued a public survey as they consider improvements to the North Douglas Boat Launch Ramp, seen here on Aug. 18, 2021. (Michael S. Lockett / Juneau Empire)

Opinion: Criticism of North Douglas ramp improvements unwarranted and unfair

“In its present state, it is an accident waiting to happen.”

  • Sep 2, 2021
The City and Borough of Juneau’s Docks and Harbors department has issued a public survey as they consider improvements to the North Douglas Boat Launch Ramp, seen here on Aug. 18, 2021. (Michael S. Lockett / Juneau Empire)
Juneau City Hall on Monday, March 30, 2020. (Peter Segall / Juneau Empire File)

Opinion: Vote ‘none of the above’ if you’ve had it with City Hall

This is a situation that is unsustainable and why “none of the above” makes sense.

  • Sep 2, 2021
Juneau City Hall on Monday, March 30, 2020. (Peter Segall / Juneau Empire File)
The City and Borough of Juneau Assembly gave the city manager’s office the go-ahead to begin negotiations with Norwegian Cruise Line over land the company needs to build its proposed dock on Egan Drive, seen here on June 6, 2021.. (Peter Segall / Juneau Empire File)

Opinion: Population, population, population

Where is the urgency to get our economy back on track?

  • Sep 2, 2021
The City and Borough of Juneau Assembly gave the city manager’s office the go-ahead to begin negotiations with Norwegian Cruise Line over land the company needs to build its proposed dock on Egan Drive, seen here on June 6, 2021.. (Peter Segall / Juneau Empire File)
tease

Opinion: Nobody is more passionate about protecting BC’s environment than British Columbians

We’d like you to know BC’s mining industry is deeply committed to responsible resource development.

  • Sep 1, 2021
tease
Ben Hohenstatt / Juneau Empire File)

Opinion: The Tongass offers vast wealth of resources. Management should take that into account

Southeast Alaska is at a unique crossroads in its management of the Tongass National Forest.

  • Aug 31, 2021
Ben Hohenstatt / Juneau Empire File)
Alexander B. Dolitsky

Opinion: Cross-cultural understanding is the key for a successful communication

It is imperative to be inclusive and tolerant.

  • Aug 31, 2021
Alexander B. Dolitsky
Michael S. Lockett / Juneau Empire File)

Opinion: I support Docks and Harbors’ ramp-improvement plans

I think the Docks and Harbors group have done a good job of meeting the needs of our boaters.

  • Aug 30, 2021
Michael S. Lockett / Juneau Empire File)
This photo shows Gov. Mike Dunleavy speaking at a July 2020 news conference. (Peter Segall / Juneau Empire File)

Opinion: More budget dishonesty

Governor’s words and actions are at odds.

  • Aug 28, 2021
This photo shows Gov. Mike Dunleavy speaking at a July 2020 news conference. (Peter Segall / Juneau Empire File)
This Thursday, July 9, 2020, photo shows empty cubicles are empty at the State Office Building in Juneau. (Peter Segall / Juneau Empire)

Opinion: State office buildings aren’t islands

State should make a reasonable effort to protect its employees.

  • Aug 26, 2021
This Thursday, July 9, 2020, photo shows empty cubicles are empty at the State Office Building in Juneau. (Peter Segall / Juneau Empire)
(Peter Segall / Juneau Empire File)

Opinion: Alaskans are owed their share of the fund

It’s time to get back to sharing the earnings of a people-owned resource with all the people.

  • Aug 26, 2021
(Peter Segall / Juneau Empire File)