Opinion

(Peter Segall / Juneau Empire File)

I’m against House Bill 52. Here’s why

HB 52 is anti-commercial fishing, anti-community poorly thought-out bill.

  • Jan 25, 2022

 

WH

Opinion: The buck stops at the top

Shared mistakes of Dunleavy and Biden.

  • Jan 23, 2022

 

5

It’s time for a federal law against LGBTQ discrimination

We have the opportunity to pass a federal law to protect 13 million LGBTQ Americans.

  • Jan 21, 2022

 

This March 2020 phgoto shows Juneau’s City Hall. (Peter Segall | Juneau Empire File)

Opinion: City can’t plow streets but plows ahead on $77M megaproject

It may be a terrific deal for the arts in our community, but it’s not clear that’s true for taxpayers.

  • Jan 20, 2022
This March 2020 phgoto shows Juneau’s City Hall. (Peter Segall | Juneau Empire File)
(Dana Zigmund/Juneau Empire File)

Opinion: It is time for the city to stop over-collecting and give our money back

Our city needs to understand that we use our own money far better than they.

  • Jan 19, 2022
(Dana Zigmund/Juneau Empire File)
1

Opinion: Energizing progress toward renewable power

We thank AEL&P for being a good neighbor in Juneau

  • Jan 18, 2022
1
masks

I’m changing the pharmacy I use. Here’s why

When I use a CVS pharmacy, I not only assure that a continued proliferation of COVID-19 variations obscenely profit Pfizer and Moderna — they, in… Continue reading

  • Jan 17, 2022
masks
(Peter Segall / Juneau Empire File)

Opinion: It’s time for the city to stop over-collecting taxes

Lowering the amount of property tax we pay would help working families.

  • Jan 17, 2022
(Peter Segall / Juneau Empire File)
Doug Vincent-Lang is commissioner of the Alaska Department of Fish and Game.( (Courtesy Photo)

Opinion: Special interest hit piece unfairly targets Southeast fisheries

I was disappointed by what I consider to be a targeted attack on Southeast Alaska salmon fisheries.

  • Jan 14, 2022
Doug Vincent-Lang is commissioner of the Alaska Department of Fish and Game.( (Courtesy Photo)
A sign designates a vote center during the recent municipal election. The center offered a spot for voters to drop off ballots or fill a ballot out in person. (Ben Hohenstatt / Juneau Empire File)

Opinion: The failure of mail-in voting

Juneau’s last municipal election was a failure.

  • Jan 14, 2022
A sign designates a vote center during the recent municipal election. The center offered a spot for voters to drop off ballots or fill a ballot out in person. (Ben Hohenstatt / Juneau Empire File)
Snow blows off Mt. Roberts high above the Thane avalanche chute, where an avalanche blew across the road during a major snowstorm. (Michael S. Lockett / Juneau Empire)

An Alaska winter of discontent

It’s been a hard winter throughout the state.

  • Jan 12, 2022
Snow blows off Mt. Roberts high above the Thane avalanche chute, where an avalanche blew across the road during a major snowstorm. (Michael S. Lockett / Juneau Empire)
(Peter Segall / Juneau Empire File)

Opinion: Seniors find fault with DHSS split proposal

There are better answers.

  • Jan 10, 2022
(Peter Segall / Juneau Empire File)
1984

Opinion: George Orwell and the beginnings of industrial propaganda

Everyone needs to read “1984.”

  • Jan 7, 2022
1984
teaser

Opinion: The pulse of fealty

Let’s be honest. Trump’s demands go beyond his one stated condition.

  • Jan 7, 2022
teaser
An array of “I Voted” stickers wait for early voters inside Mendenhall Mall on Thursday, Oct. 22, 2020. (Ben Hohenstatt / Juneau Empire)

Opinion: Easy to vote and hard to cheat

It’s essential that election officials evaluate changes to ensure state voting system remains secure

  • Jan 6, 2022
An array of “I Voted” stickers wait for early voters inside Mendenhall Mall on Thursday, Oct. 22, 2020. (Ben Hohenstatt / Juneau Empire)
A sign designates a vote center during the recent municipal election. The center offered a spot for voters to drop off ballots or fill a ballot out in person. (Ben Hohenstatt / Juneau Empire)

Opinion: Another reason to return to in-person voting

Why are we continuing to do mail-in elections?

  • Jan 5, 2022
A sign designates a vote center during the recent municipal election. The center offered a spot for voters to drop off ballots or fill a ballot out in person. (Ben Hohenstatt / Juneau Empire)
(Ben Hohenstatt / Juneau Empire File)

Opinion: Hope, prayer, and mRNA vaccines

Every elected leader should be asking Americans to do their patriotic duty —get vaccinated.

  • Jan 5, 2022
(Ben Hohenstatt / Juneau Empire File)
Alexander B. Dolitsky

Opinion: Russian Old Believers in modern Alaska

America is the sunrise for the Russian Old Believers in Alaska.

  • Jan 4, 2022
Alexander B. Dolitsky
teaser

Thank you for promoting mental health in Juneau

Here’s how it’s helped.

  • Jan 3, 2022
teaser
(Michael S. Lockett / Juneau Empire File)

Opinion: Southeast hatcheries are criticial to Southeast’s economy

Every Alaskan in our region is impacted by our salmon hatchery program.

  • Dec 31, 2021
(Michael S. Lockett / Juneau Empire File)