NASCAR’S biggest losers hopeful of major upset at Daytona 500

  • Thursday, February 18, 2016 1:00am
  • News

DAYTONA BEACH, Fla. — The 1962 New York Mets, the mid-70s Tampa Bay Bucs and the current Philadelphia 76ers have nothing on Casey Mears.

The nephew of four-time Indianapolis 500 champion Rick Mears, Casey has a tortured losing streak that is closing in on 300 races. His chances of winning the Daytona 500 on Sunday are about as slim as the gap between cars in bumper-to-bumper pack racing.

“I don’t like the stat that I have, the longest-running winless streak,” Mears said. “But I think a lot of those things drive you to push and work hard now to try to end that.”

Don’t worry Mears, you actually don’t have the longest streak.

According to STATS LLC, the longest active losing streaks in the Sprint Cup series by drivers attempting this year’s Daytona 500 are held by:

Bobby Labonte, 395 races.

David Gilliland, 330 races.

Mears, 296 races.

Reed Sorenson, 234 races.

Michael Waltrip, 218 races.

Those are just a few of the of forlorn drivers who will trudge into “The Great American Race” without much expectation of pulling off The Big One and adding to the short list of upsets at Daytona International Speedway.

With few exceptions, the majority of the long shots are on the wrong side of NASCAR’s power structure. They drive low-funded cars with inferior equipment and have inexperienced crews that put them in the hole before the green flag even drops.

The days of an underdog like Alan Kulwicki scratching together the resources to win a championship, much less multiple races, are over. Cars owned by Roger Penske, Rick Hendrick, Stewart-Haas and Joe Gibbs won 35 of the 36 Cup points races last season. Martin Truex Jr. was the lone outlier, winning once for Furniture Row Racing.

For some drivers, the thought of starting the engine knowing there was no chance of catching Jimmie and Junior — or even winless Danica — was a blow to their pride.

Justin Allgaier went 0 for 75 in three years at the Cup level before dropping to the second-tier Xfinity Series.

“I saw a side of myself that I didn’t necessarily like,” he said. “I started doing some things with the way I approached the track, and I didn’t like the way I was doing that. I’ve struggled to understand why it works the way it works with myself.”

Greg Biffle was once one of NASCAR’s regular winners, getting to victory lane six times in 2005 and finishing fifth in the standings in 2012. He’s coming off back-to-back winless seasons for the first time in his Cup career.

“Last year, unfortunately, we knew that next month we weren’t going to show up to the race track and win,” he said. “We didn’t have the cars to do it.”

Mired in mediocrity, Biffle’s team underwent a major offseason overhaul that included a new crew chief to try and rediscover his winning ways.

Mears has watched Germain Racing morph through the years into a potentially competitive team and he flashed some speed in Daytona qualifying. He had heavyweight ownership behind him early in his career before he bounced around with the have-nots. He failed to qualify for the 2010 Daytona 500 driving for a start-and-park team.

The start-and-park teams were NASCAR’s equivalent of tanking, fielding a noncompetitive car in hopes of guaranteed cash and little risk of destroying parts. With a new charter system in place, that ignominious era of early exits has largely been drummed out of the series.

“It’s the worst thing you’ve ever done as a competitor,” Mears said. “I don’t know how you do it, but you have to because you want to continue to be in the sport.”

But much like that 2-15 matchup in the NCAA Tournament, there is still a glimmer that — on any given Sunday at Daytona — there is hope.

Waltrip went 462 races without a victory before winning the 2001 Daytona 500. Trevor Bayne, driving in this year’s field, pulled one of NASCAR’s biggest stunners at Daytona in 2011. Derrike Cope — who? — won the 1990 Daytona 500.

They all have more Daytona 500 victories than three-time series champion Tony Stewart. Dale Earnhardt won just once before he died in the 2001 race.

But Daytona is largely a race for the big boys. There are nine former winners in the 40-car field.

“I used to say it’s a crapshoot. It just isn’t,” Sprint Unlimited winner Denny Hamlin said. “The same guys don’t win all the time if it’s a crapshoot. I think that guys like Dale Junior that continually put themselves up at the front when it counts at these superspeedway races, it’s because he knows something that the rest of the field does not. Those are the guys that you need to look at and figure out how you can get better to get to their level.”

More in News

Jasmine Chavez, a crew member aboard the Quantum of the Seas cruise ship, waves to her family during a cell phone conversation after disembarking from the ship at Marine Park on May 10. (Mark Sabbatini / Juneau Empire file photo)
Ships in port for the week of May 25

Here’s what to expect this week.

(Michael Penn / Juneau Empire file photo)
Police calls for Tuesday, May 28, 2024

This report contains public information from law enforcement and public safety agencies.

Bill Thomas, a lifelong Chilkat resident and former state lawmaker, has filed as a candidate for the District 3 House seat that includes the northern half of Juneau on Wednesday. (Alaska State Legislature photo)
Former Haines lawmaker Bill Thomas challenging Rep. Andi Story for District 3 House seat

Challenger served in Legislature from 2005-13, been a lobbyist and commercial fisherman for decades.

The student band performs at Thunder Mountain High School. (Screenshot from student film “Digging a Hole in the School Budget”)
Thunder Mountain High School graduates win film festival award

Documentary by Jade Hicks, Hayden Loggy-Smith portrays human impacts of school consolidation plan.

The city of Hoonah, which is petitioning to incorporate as a borough that includes a large surrounding area that includes Glacier Bay and a few tiny communities. (Alaska Department of Commerce, Community and Economic Development photo)
Hoonah’s petition to create Alaska’s 20th borough opposed by state boundary commission staff

Xunaa Borough would rank 8th in size, 18th in population; final decision, public vote still pending.

Ian Worden, interim CEO at Bartlett Regional Hospital, presents an update about the hospital’s financial situation during a board of directors meeting on Tuesday night. (Mark Sabbatini / Juneau Empire)
Bartlett officials seek to extend interim CEO’s contract to end of year amidst financial crisis planning

Ian Worden took over temporary leadership in October; 39 applicants so far for permanent job.

The LeConte state ferry departs Juneau on Tuesday afternoon, bound for Haines on a special round-trip following two cancelled sailings due to a mechanical problem. (Laurie Craig / Juneau Empire)
LeConte returns to service with special trip to Haines after weekend cancellation

State ferry will pick up half of nearly 60 stranded vehicles, others may have to wait until July.

(Michael Penn / Juneau Empire file photo)
Police calls for Monday, May 27, 2024

This report contains public information from law enforcement and public safety agencies.

Anchorage pullers arrived at Wrangell’s Petroglyph Beach on May 23 for a canoe-naming ceremony. One of the canoes they will paddle to Juneau was dedicated to Wrangell’s Marge Byrd, Kiks.adi matriarch Shaawat Shoogoo. The canoe’s name is Xíxch’ dexí (Frog Backbone). (Becca Clark / Wrangell Sentinel)
Canoes making 150-mile journey from Wrangell, other Southeast communities to Celebration

Paddlers expected to arrive in Juneau on June 4, one day before biennial Alaska Native gathering.

Most Read