Underdog JDHS track sends eleven to state meet

With a team half the size of Thunder Mountain High School’s, Juneau-Douglas High School track and field might feel a little lost in all their counterpart’s success. Despite being the underdog compared to TMHS track and field juggernaut, JDHS has managed to qualify nine athletes to state, a remarkable number considering their short 2016 roster.

JDHS will send: Justin Miller, Duncan Smith, Ryan Moritz, Soren Thompson, Noah Machakos, Seth Machakos, Brianna Fallis, Ashleigh Neal, Cody Weldon, Arne Ellefson-Carnes and David Timothy to the state meet which takes place this Friday and Saturday.

Moritz, Thompson, and Seth and Noah Machakos will compete in the boys 4X800-meter relay. Smith will compete in the boys long jump and boys triple jump, Weldon in the boys shot put, Moritz in the boys 800-meter run and Miller in the boys 100 and 200-meter runs.

Fallis, Neal, Miller and Timothy will compete in the unified 4X100-meter relay.

At the state meet Smith looks to improve on his impressive 39-foot triple jump. The boys 400 relay team is currently ranked sixth in the state and has been dominating in Region V competitions. Miller finished fourth in the 100, behind TMHS’ stellar sprinters, but had a great time which qualified him for the state meet. All four have a shot to make it to the state finals, and if so, would comprise an all Region V boys 100 meter final. Miller finished third in the 200 with a time good enough to join two TMHS athletes at the state meet.

Look to the Empire online for coverage from the ASAA State Track and Field Championships this Friday and Saturday.

More in Sports

La Perouse Glacier in Southeast Alaska retreats from a campsite in summer 2021. (Photo by Ned Rozell)
Alaska Science Forum: Number of Alaska glaciers is everchanging

A glaciologist once wrote that the number of glaciers in Alaska “is… Continue reading

An outdoor basketball hoop is seen in Bethel in October 2022. Alaskans will be able to play only on sports teams that match their gender at birth through college if a new bill becomes law. (Photo by Claire Stremple)
Alaska House committee advances, expands proposal to bar trans girls from girls sports

Bill adds elementary, middle school and collegiate sports to limits in place for high school.

Utah’s Alissa Pili, right, poses for a photo with WNBA commissioner Cathy Engelbert after being selected eighth overall by the Minnesota Lynx during the first round of the WNBA basketball draft on Monday in New York. (AP Photo/Adam Hunger)
Alaska’s Alissa Pili selected by Minnesota Lynx as eighth pick in WNBA Draft

Two-time All-American is fifth Alaskan to be drafted, third to go in the top 10.

Pseudoscorpions are very small predators of springtails and mites. (Photo by Bob Armstrong)
On the Trails: Intertidal explorations

A bit of exploration of the rocky intertidal zone near Shaman Island… Continue reading

The author’s wife fights a steelhead while the author contemplates fly selection. (Photo by Jeff Lund)
I Went to the Woods: The fear of missing fish

Student: “You know, FOMO, the Fear Of Missing Out” Me: “I know… Continue reading

Astrophysicists Lindsay Glesener, left, and Sabrina Savage enjoy the sunshine on an observation deck at the Neil Davis Science Center on a hilltop at Poker Flat Research Range north of Fairbanks. (Photo by Ned Rozell)
Alaska Science Forum: Waiting for the sun at Poker Flat

POKER FLAT RESEARCH RANGE — Under a bluebird sky and perched above… Continue reading

Maddy Fortunato, a Chickaloon middle school student, sets to attempt the one-hand reach by touching a suspended ball while remaining balanced on the other hand during the Traditional Games on Sunday at Juneau-Douglas High School: Yadaa.at Kalé. (Mark Sabbatini / Juneau Empire)
Striving for the perfect balance of competition, camaraderie at seventh annual Traditional Games

More than 250 participants pursue personal goals while helping others during Indigenous events.

Purple mountain saxifrage blooms on cliffs along Perseverance Trail in early April. (Photo by Pam Bergeson)
On the Trails: Flowers and their visitors

Flowers influence their visitors in several ways. Visitors may be attracted by… Continue reading

Elias Lowell, 15, balances his way to the end of the pond during the annual Slush Cup at Eaglecrest Ski Area on Sunday, the last day of what officials called and up-and-down season. (Mark Sabbatini / Juneau Empire)
Up-and-down season at Eaglecrest ends on splashy note with Slush Cup

Ski area’s annual beach party features ice-filled water, snowy shores and showboating skimmers.

Most Read