Web tease

Juneau residents earn awards, honors

Scots and students.

Juneau Girl Scout earns Gold Award

A Juneau resident recently became a Gold Award Girl Scout, Girl Scouts of Alaska announced.

Amara Sanguni earned the Gold Award by developing a plant-based diet unit at her school, Girl Scouts of Alaska said in a news release.

The award is earned by a high school Girl Scout who works to address an issue the Scout is passionate about in a way that produces meaningful and lasting change, according to Girl Scouts of Alaska.

Juneau student named to Cedarville University dean’s list

Laura Walsh of Juneau was named to Cedarville University’s fall 2020 dean’s list, the university announced.

To earn the distinction, Walsh had to obtain a 3.75 GPA or higher for the semester and carry at least 12 credit hours, Cedarville University said in a news release.

Two Juneau students named to University of Utah dean’s list

Two students from Juneau were among the 9,700 named to the University of Utah’s fall 2020 dean’s list, the university announced.

Cahal Morehouse and Olivia Moore were each named to the list. To qualify, they had to obtain a GPA of 3.5 or higher and carry at least 12 credit hours, Univeristy of Utah said in a news release.

Juneau student named to Gonzaga’s dean’s list

Riley Sikes was named to the Gonzaga University fall 2020 dean’s list, the university announced.

To earn the distinction Sikes had to obtain a GPA between 3.5 and 3.84, Gonzaga University said in a news release.

University of Alaska Southeast announces academic honors

University of Alaska Southeast recently announced the names of students who appeared on its dean’s and chancellor’s list.

Students on the dean’s or chancellor’s list are undergraduates admitted to a certificate or degree program at UAS, the university said in a news release. Eligibility is based on a minimum of 12 credits of graded course work for the semester through the UA system.

Dean’s list students are recognized for achieving a grade point average between 3.5 and 3.99 during the fall 2020 semester. Chancellor’s List students are recognized for achieving a grade point average of 4.0 during the fall 2020 semester.

Chancellor’s list: Sylvia I. Andrew, Sheridan L. Bacon, Matthew R. Berry, Tiffany Boardman, Cassandra Borgman, Brittney Boyette

Darrien Faye G. Bulauan, Lillian E. Burger-Pothier, Caten L. Canet, Amber Conoly, Brandi L. Deafendeffin, Breann A. Denton, Nanna Duwe, Anastasia R. Erickson, Tulio J. Fontanella, Lydia A. Foster, Trevor L. Fritz, Emily M. Gettis, Hannah M. Gunther, Tali C. Hadfield, Abbey R. Hardie, Cade A. Havel, Erin A. Herrick, Andrea Hervey, Jurny V. Hinz, Eileen C. Johnston, Erin M. Johnston, Kylie M. Jordinelli, Jeff J. Karlson, Michelle R. Kirkham, Kristen Kloeckner, Carson L. Landingham, Ayanna J. Lind, Courtney C. Lowe, Canzada M. Maruskie, Shannon V. McConnell, Eric T. McDonald, Annika M. Meehleis, Jennifer A. Mejia, Tauni B. Minelli, Dominic P. Montalto, Miles Riley C. Nye, Micah Pagett, Sarah J. Palaruan, Matthew D. Palomar, Hallie Peacock, Kaia J. Quinto, Susan G. Seeganna, Herb Sheakley, Olivia M. Sims, Leslie C. Snodderly, Danielle E. Solsvig, Kali B. Spencer, Riley R. Stadt, Alicia C. Steiner, Cheyenne J. Ticket, Keziah R. Whipple, Jessica M. Whitney, Elena A. Wisecarver, Evan J. Yoder, and Honesty J. Zahnd.

Dean’s list: Nicole E. Adams, Alexa K. Adelmeyer, Tanessa A. Ashenfelter, Madison M. Blackburn, Joshua C. Blodgett, Alyxn Bohulano, Catherine J. Bras, Michael J. Brend, Lyndsey M. Brisard, Kiersten . Browne, Sommer R. Burgett, Deborah S. Buring, Gage Cadenhead, Kierstyn M. Cadiente-Laiti-Blattner, Nolan F. Campbell, David L. Carroll, Kieran Casey, Tori J. Cash, Angela Charles, Akasha S. Chinnis, Megan K. Christner, Nowielle J. Corpuz, Delcenia C. Cosman, Hope Courtney, Julie A. Coyle, Sabrina Critchfield, Celestina L. Cruz, Autumn G. Daigle, Nicholas C. Daniels, Elizabeth H. Davies, Mara R. Dittbrender, Muriel C. Dittrich, Justice E. Dominy, Francis A. Doubrava, Laura E. Drennen, Austin R. Edson, Ivette J. Egoak, Molly A. Ekstrom, Christian T. English, Daniela Escamilla Fernandez, Rosemary J. Eufemio, Jannie Blanche B. Fernandez, Sapphira A. Flint, Sarah A. Foglia, Julia D. Fonov, Lauryn M. Framke, Dale A. Frink, Travis A. Gannon, Audrey M. Giddings, Miranda L. Green, Andrea J. Hall, Kerry A. Halter, Gracelyn R. Ham, David Hamilton, Celeste J. Harrell, Alicia M. Harris, Jason C. Hock, Logan Holt, Nolan T. Horner, Rylee M. Johnson, Miranda R. Kellerhals, Cora A. Kibling, Kellianne . KinCannon, Emily A. Klosterman, Alex . Knobloch, Logan M. Lesmann, Alena R. Lunda, Harley B. Lytle, Shanen T. Mabute, Cameron R. Manahan, Marc Andrew R. Manlulu, Erika M. Mason, Erin C. McBrien, Jessica L. McGonigal, Denara A. McLeod, Scythia D. McQueen, Elizabeth E. Mears, Chariety L. Moler, Shaelene G. Moler, Bethany B. Monfore, Sosan B. Monsef, Caitlyn R. Montalto, Christine S. Moore, Matthew Moorefield, Christopher E. Morse, Chatham T. Moser, Marina I. Ogai, Connor M. Owens, Cora E. Parish, Monica H. Paukan, Andrea M. Peele, Michael S. Pittmann, Arianna I. Rivera, Macie M. Robison, Robin . Roehl, Kortney R. Rupprecht, Anna C. Rust, Gavin O. Salazar, Jessica A. Sanchez, Kirsten L. Sanchez, Rose M. Seamount, Keith S. Sellers, John B. Seymour, Peter D. Sidmore, Hannah M. Smith, Jaidyn R. Snell, Cassidy L. Somerville, Justine Roi G. Soriano, Jennifer A. Spatz, Amalia J. Tamone, Matthew Torres, Katie A. Turner, Louise M. Tymrak, Naatalgaii Utter, Breanna Vailencour, Deziree N. Valdez, Stephen E. Van Horne, Riley M. Van Kirk, Julee-Anna M. Van Velzor, Mariah J. Vantrease, Emily C. Vernon, Pamela Veshti, Joshua K. Walsh, Carrie L. Wawrzyk, Verla T. Weter, Amber R. White, Megan . Whitermore, Rose A. Willard, Kenna D. Willis, Allison J. Winger, Deanna M. Wininger, Patricia K. Woo, Kelsey . Wood, Nicole H. Woodland, Debra L. Wright, Ashley M. Yoder and Charlene Y. Zanoria

More in Neighbors

Wayne and Cindy Bertholl were married in Holy Trinity Episcopal Church by Reverend Mark A. Boesser, on February 25th, 1961. (Courtesy Photo)
Wayne and Cindy Bertholl celebrate 60th wedding anniversary

They were married in Holy Trinity Episcopal Church by the Rev. Mark A. Boesser, on Feb. 25, 1961.

Web tease
Juneau student earns academic honors

Erica Hurtte of Juneau has been named to the dean’s list for… Continue reading

Living & Growing: Measure of our hearts

How can we cleanse our hearts and see more with our hearts?

Web tease
Recognitions for the week of Sunday, Feb. 14

Juneau students earn academic honors.

Geoff Kirsch
Slack Tide: When the going gets tough, the tough muck out the garage

Overcoming stretches of doom and gloom without intoxicants.

Foodland and Super Bear customers donate to food bank
This photo shows (from left to right) Chris Schapp, Southeast Alaska Food Bank manager; Rick Wilson, Foodland store director; Kelly Crow, Super Bear Store director; Brad Folckomer, Foodland assistant manager; JP Oudekerk, Super Bear assistant manager; and Dave Lefebvre, Southeast Alaska Food Bank board president. (Courtesy Photo)
Grocery store customers donate to local food bank

Thousands of dollars and thousands of pounds of food.

Living & Growing: Love that is not stingy

Those that we truly love we find that it is not a hardship to love them.

Web tease
Juneau students earn academic honors

Recognitions for the week of Feb. 7, 2021.

Living & Growing: He died in faith

He expected to die, not pass away. It is time for us to mourn his death and celebrate his legacy.

Thank you letter for the week of Jan. 31, 2021

Thank you, merci, danke, gracias, gunalchéesh.

Web tease
Juneau residents earn awards, honors

Scots and students.

You might be middle-aged…

There is a growing list of everyday items that are virtually unknown to young people of today.